Posted by: Sheila Cadwalader    Not all of her files was readable, much of it was in code form, so I have posted what was readable. If you have any questions please send mail to Shelia


Pg. 33. This acq period all of the residents had left Diamond City, taking their homes with them.

At the present time there are no permanent residents on Shackleford Banks, though there is talk of converting it into either a summer resort or a park. Until very recently it was used extensively for grazing horses, cattle, and sheep, and the open grazing, undoubtedly has had a lot to do with the destruction of the vegetation which had previously protected Shackleford Banks from the storms.


Pg. 33. This acquisition of so much of the Banks by individuals had little relationship at the time to actual settlement. William Reed for example, did not live on his Hatteras property. John Porter sold his 7000-acre holding to Enoch Ward and John Shackleford, and they in turn divided it in 1723, with Ward getting the Core Banks section and Shackleford the western part, which came to bear his name. But Porter, Ward, and Shackleford were all none resident property owners and apparently it was not until after John Shackleford's death in 1734 that his heirs and Ward began selling off smaller parcels of the land.

Pg. 184 The written records in the story of Diamond City begin as early as 1723. On September 2 of that year two Carolinians, brothers-in-law named Enoch Ward and John Shackleford, signed an agreement for the equal division of some 7000 acres of Banks land they had acquired jointly. Their original holdings extended from Beaufort Inlet, around Cape Lookout, and up the Banks to Drum Inlet, an entire Banks Island some twenty-five miles in length. In division, Ward agreed to take the eastern half, the part known as Core Banks; Shackleford took the western half from Cape Lookout to Beaufort Inlet.

Pg. 308 In 1713 a man named John Porter secured a grant for 7000 acres of Banks land, extending from Old Drum Inlet to old Topsail Inlet (now Beaufort Inlet) and including Cape Lookout. This was soon acquired by John Shackleford and Enoch Ward who divided the property in 1723 - Shackleford taking Cape Lookout and the western part, Ward taking the eastern part. Though the name Core Banks was sometimes applied to all of this area, the original Shackleford property in time became known as Shackleford Banks, and in today's usage Core Banks is the area between Drum Inlet and Cape Lookout.

The name Core Banks - and Core Sound, which separates it from the mainland - derives from the Coree Indians, who once lived on the mainland and hunted on the Banks.

Among the earliest residents of Core Banks, particulaly in the section near Cape Lookout, were whalers who operated from camps on the beach. Old names such as Whale Creek, Whalers Camp, Middle Whales Camp, and Whalers Camp Point, of course, stem from this. Among other early place names, most of them forgotten for many years, were Briery Hills, Three Hats Creek, Thompson's Hammock, The High Hills, Pettartory Hill, Horse Pen Creek, and Jacks Place.

The name of Core Banks Livesaving Station, one of the last established on the North Carolina coast, was later changed to Atlantic. Located near the present Drum Inlet, the Coast Guard Station there was decommissioned in 1957.

Pg. 311 Shackleford Banks and Diamond City

Shackleford Banks, acquired by John Shackleford when he and Enoch Ward divided their 7000 acre tract of Banks land in 1723, extends now from the Drain, or Barden Inlet, on the east of Beaufort Inlet to the West.

Once heavily forested, it was partly cut over more than a hundred years ago to provide live oak, and cedar timbers for the construction of ships in Beaufort boatyards, and in the hurricane of 1899, and successive storms it has been practically denuded.

In the latter part of the nineteenth century there were two well defined communities of approximately 500 people, most of whom were whalers, and when the August hurricane of 1899, flooded their homes they decided to move. Within a three year  (was not able to read anymore at this end either)

Return to Researchers List

© -Copyright Notice

UpdatedThursday, 01-May-2008 18:40:44 EDT